The 16th Lyon Biennale: manifesto of fragility positions fragility at the heart of a generative form of resistance that is emboldened by the past, responsive to the present and primed for the future. Conceived as a collective statement, authored through word, image, sound and movement, it calls on a community of resilient voices to draft a manifesto for a world that is blamelessly fragile. The Biennale is structured around three distinct yet inter-connected layers, where fragility and resistance are explored through the lens of the individual, the city, and the world respectively.

(Re)Discover The 16th Lyon Biennale through its three catalogues: The Many Lives and Deaths of Louise Brunet, Beirut and the Golden Sixties and A World of Endless Promise. Available in our bookshop or online!

manifesto of fragility : Guide

bac22_publi_guide2.jpg

With the complete guide to lead your visit, immerse yourself in the 16th Biennale of contemporary art.

→ Available in the Bookshop in the Fagor Factories and the macLYON.

edited by Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

français/anglais
21 x 15 cm
368 pages
Paperback
15 €

The Many Lives and Deaths of Louise Brunet

bac22_publi_louise.jpg

The Many Lives and Deaths of Louise Brunet departs from the obscure life of Louise Brunet, who was sent to prison for her role in the 1834 revolt of Lyon’s silk weavers, only to find herself a few years later on a perilous journey from Lyon to the silk factories of Mount Lebanon. Almost two hundred years later, there are countless Louise Brunets around the world who continue to be depleted by the skewed power structures that exploit them.

Through blurring the boundaries between fact and fiction, and in amassing a wide plethora of artworks, objects, and archives spanning two millennia, the exhibition brings to light those who have been deemed far too insignificant for the grand annals of history, and whose stories have been swept into the far corners of oblivion.

→ Available in the Bookshop in the Fagor Factories and the macLYON.
→ Available online in Silvana Editoriale mid November 2022.

edited by Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

English and French
22 x 26 cm
240 pages
200 ill.
hardcover
34 €

Beirut and the Golden Sixties

bac22_publi_beirut.jpg

Beirut and the Golden Sixties revisits a turbulent chapter in the development of modernism in Beirut beginning with the 1958 Lebanon crisis and ending with the 1975 outbreak of the Lebanese Civil War. Through 230 works by 34 artists and more than 300 archival documents, the exhibition examines this romanticized era of global influence in Beirut to highlight how collisions between art, culture and polarised political ideologies turned the Beirut art scene into a microcosm for larger trans-regional tensions.

As a city that is arguably in and of itself a manifesto of fragility, Beirut continues to evoke both vulnerability and determination – or at least traces of it – and conjure forms of resistance, called forth by the urgency of the moment and the desire to be remembered.

→ Available in the Bookshop in the Fagor Factories and the macLYON.
→ Available online in Silvana Editoriale.

edited by Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

English and French
22 x 26 cm
272 pages
280 ill.
hardcover
38 €

A World of Endless Promise

bac22_publi_world.jpg

A World of Endless Promise assembles a host of creative practices by 88 artists from 39 countries that are spread across twelve locations spanning several centuries of Lyon’s rich history. Whether through the issues they tackle, or the materials they use, these artists’ diverse approaches represent varied understandings of our current state of global uncertainty and has the potential to inform our thinking about generative paths of resistance. In recognizing that artists, past and present, are often among the most vulnerable voices in our societies, the exhibition also brings together works of art and objects spanning millennia that bare their scars and deformities, share forgotten accounts of turmoil, and draw attention to the indelible traces of time. And it is exactly there, at the heart of their fragility, that the promise of a truly changed world begins.

→ Available in the Bookshop in the Fagor Factories and the macLYON in December 2022.
→ Available online in Silvana Editoriale in December 2022

edited by Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

English and French
22 x 26 cm
496 pages
300 ill.
hardcover
65 €

La 16e Biennale de Lyon manifesto of fragility place la fragilité au coeur d’une forme de résistance génératrice encouragée par le passé, en prise avec le présent et capable d’affronter le futur. Conçue comme une déclaration collective, créée par les mots, les images, les sons et les mouvements, elle appelle une communauté de voix résilientes à rédiger un manifeste pour un monde à la fragilité irréprochable. La Biennale est structurée autour de trois strates distinctes mais interconnectées, où la fragilité et la résistance sont explorées à travers le prisme de l’individu, de la ville et du monde.

(Re)Découvrez la 16e Biennale d'art contemporain à la lumière de ses trois publications : Les nombreuses vies et morts de Louise Brunet, Beyrouth et les Golden Sixties et Un monde d’une promesse infinie. Disponible dans nos librairies-boutiques ou en ligne !

manifesto of fragility : Le Guide

bac22_publi_guide2.jpg

Avec le guide complet pour animer votre visite, plongez dans la 16e Biennale d'art contemporain.

→ Disponible à la Librairie boutique aux Usines Fagor et au macLYON.

sous la direction de Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

français/anglais
21 x 15 cm
368 pages
Livre de poche
15 €

Les nombreuses vies et morts de Louise Brunet

bac22_publi_louise.jpg

Les nombreuses vies et morts de Louise Brunet part de la vie méconnue de Louise Brunet, qui fut envoyée en prison pour son rôle dans la révolte des Canuts de Lyon en 1834, pour se retrouver quelques années plus tard dans un périlleux voyage de Lyon jusqu’aux fabriques de soie du Mont Liban. Près de deux cents ans plus tard, d’innombrables Louise Brunet dans le monde continuent d’être épuisées par les structures de pouvoir biaisées qui les exploitent.

En brouillant les frontières entre réalité et fiction et en rassemblant une pléthore d’oeuvres d’art, d’objets et d’archives couvrant deux millénaires, l’exposition met en lumière ceux qui ont été jugés bien trop insignifiants pour les grandes annales de l’Histoire, et dont les histoires ont été emportées dans les coins les plus reculés de l’oubli.

→ Disponible à la Librairie boutique aux Usines Fagor et au macLYON
→ Disponible en ligne sur Silvana Editoriale mi-novembre 2022.

sous la direction de Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

français et anglais
22 x 26 cm
240 pages
200 ill.
relié
34 €

Beyrouth et les Golden Sixties

bac22_publi_beirut.jpg

Beyrouth et les Golden Sixties revient sur un chapitre tumultueux du développement du modernisme à Beyrouth, de la crise libanaise de 1958 au déclenchement de la guerre civile au Liban en 1975. À travers 230 oeuvres de 34 artistes et plus de 300 documents d’archives, l’exposition examine cette époque romancée d’influence mondiale à Beyrouth pour souligner comment les collisions entre l’art, la culture et les idéologies politiques polarisées ont transformé la scène artistique de Beyrouth en un microcosme des tensions dans cette région du monde.

Incarnant elle-même sans doute un manifeste de fragilité, Beyrouth continue d’évoquer à la fois la vulnérabilité et la détermination - ou du moins des traces de celle-ci - et évoque des formes de résistance, suscitées par l’urgence du moment et le désir de ne pas être oubliée.

→ Disponible à la Librairie boutique aux Usines Fagor et au macLYON.
→ Disponible en ligne sur Silvana Editoriale.

sous la direction de Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

français et anglais
22 x 26 cm
272 pages
280 ill.
relié
38 €

Un monde d’une promesse infinie

bac22_publi_world.jpg

Un monde d’une promesse infinie rassemble une foule de pratiques créatives de 88 artistes provenant de 39 pays, réparties sur douze lieux couvrant plusieurs siècles de la riche histoire de Lyon. Que ce soit à travers les problèmes qu’elles abordent ou les matériaux qu’elles utilisent, les diverses approches de ces artistes représentent des compréhensions variées de notre état actuel d’incertitude mondiale et ont le potentiel d’éclairer notre réflexion sur les voies génératives de résistance.

En reconnaissant que les artistes, passés et présents, sont souvent parmi les voix les plus vulnérables de nos sociétés, l’exposition rassemble également des oeuvres d’art et des objets couvrant des millénaires qui dévoilent leurs cicatrices et leurs difformités, partagent des récits oubliés de troubles et attirent l’attention sur les traces indélébiles du temps. Et c’est précisément là, au coeur de leur fragilité, que commence la promesse d’un monde véritablement changé.

→ Disponible à la Librairie boutique aux Usines Fagor et au macLYON à partir de décembre 2022.
→ Disponible en ligne sur Silvana Editoriale à partir de décembre 2022.

sous la direction de Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath

français et anglais
22 x 26 cm
496 pages
300 ill.
relié
65 €