The 16th edition of the Lyon Biennale will materialize across numerous sites. Many works will be adapted to the unique architectural contexts in which they will be shown, including several large-scale immersive installations. The Biennale will expand beyond its customary venues in Lyon into locations throughout the city in order to welcome the participation of the broadest possible public.

Biennale Venues

Old Fagor factories
A former industrial jewel at the heart of Lyon’s working-class history, the Fagor-Brandt household appliance factory still employed 1,800 people at the end of the 20th century. Since its closure in 2015, the 29,000 m2 site has been reconverted into a cultural space, and welcomes many visitors on the occasion of its artistic schedule, which brings this place back to life.

The Fourvière Basilica
On the « hill of the people who pray » and facing the « hill of the people who work », the Basilica overlooks Lyon and participates in its famous architectural skyline. Its construction is the result of a promise made in 1870 by the people of Lyon to their archbishop, to build a basilica didicated to the Virgin Mary if the city was spared by the Prussians. The Fourvière Basilic is strong of its panoramic situation, but its origin story remains part of a dark event., It testifies as much to faith as to fear, and echoes the theme of fragility.

Fourvière Museum
The Fourvière Museum is a private museum of sacred art. Created in 1960, its first vocation was to make the public discover the richness of the art and culture of Christianity. The museum also owns the Fourvière treasure, gathering pieces of silverware from the 19th and 20th centuries. This place, currently under renovation, is reinventing itself to pursue its mission of transmission.

The Gadagne MHL Museum
Located in the heart of Old Lyon, the Hôtel de Gadagne, built during the Renaissance by the Pierrevive brothers, has been home to the collections of the Lyon History Museum since 1921. With nearly 80,000 items, they give an overview of the different faces of the capital of the Gauls, which is as much the city of silk as of workers’ revolts, the chemical and pharmaceutical industries and the cinema.

URDLA - Villeurbanne
Established in a former factory in Villeurbanne, the URDLA is a hybrid place, both a production workshop and a distribution tool. Preserving historical presses and century-old lithographic stones, the space is dedicated to the development and conservation of printmaking.

Lugdunum - Museum & Gallo-Romain Museum
The Gallo-Roman Museum of the city of Lyon is designed as an underground concrete cathedral, anchored on the Fourvière hill. Inaugurated in 1975, it stands on the site of the Roman city, Lugdunum, founded in 43 BC. The brutalist architecture, integrated into the landscape, highlights the surrounding archaeological elements and serves as a showcase for the collections. This diachronic arrangement testifies to the layering of time in the city, and very contemporary pieces will be mixed in.

Lyon Contemporary Art Museum (macLYON)
Established since 1995 on the site of the Cité internationale, a vast architectural complex on the edge of the Parc de la Tête d’Or, the Musée d’art contemporain de Lyon (macLyon), designed by the architect Renzo Piano, combines a 1920s façade by Charles Meysson, from the former palaces of the Foire de Lyon, with a contemporary red brick volume.

The Museum of Fine Arts
In the heart of the city, the museum of Fine Arts preserves in the Palais Saint-Pierre an important collection which extends from Antiquity to the XXth century. The collections are organized in chronological order, in order to give to the visitor a journey through time, according to the encyclopedic ideal of Les Lumières. This historical density makes possible the confrontation of eras.

Guimet Museum
Inaugurated in 1913 in a building in the 6th arrondissement according to plans designed by Tony Blein and closed to the public since 2007, the Guimet Museum of Natural History housed a wide variety of collections - from non-European ethnology to natural sciences and pontifical missionary works.

The Parc de la tête d'or and the pavillon du Parc
Designed by the Bühler brothers and laid out in 1857, the Parc de la Tête d’Or is a place of relaxation and leisure, as well as a botanical and zoological garden, a rose garden and an orangery. Located on the banks of the Rhône, it is also home to the Pavillon du Parc, a former restaurant, empty and abandoned since 2015.

New places to discover soon...

Places of interest

Inscribed in an architectural and historical narrative, the places of interest enrich the timeless and iconic discourse by a stroll through the city of Lyon.

La Maison de Lorette
Cimetière de Loyasse
Maison des Canuts
Grand Hôtel-Dieu
Chapelle de l’Hôtel-Dieu
Palais de la Bourse de Lyon
Place des Terreaux

Rue de la Quarantaine
Halle Tony Garnier
Célestins, Théâtre de Lyon
Clocher de l’Hôpital de la Charité de Lyon
Place Saint-Nizier
Jardin Botanique de Lyon

La 16e édition de la Biennale de Lyon se déploiera sur divers sites. De nombreuses oeuvres seront adaptées au contexte architectural des lieux dans lesquelles elles seront exposées, dont notamment plusieurs installations immersives de très grand format. La Biennale s’étendra au-delà de ses sites habituels, sur l’ensemble de la métropole de Lyon, mais aussi sur le territoire régional afin d’accueillir un large public.

Lieux de la Biennale

Anciennes Usines Fagor
Ancien fleuron de l’industrie au coeur de l’histoire ouvrière lyonnaise, l’usine d’électroménager Fagor-Brandt employait encore 1 800 ouvrier•ère•s à la fin du XXème siècle. Depuis la fermeture en 2015, le site de 29 000 m2 s’est reconverti en friche culturelle, et accueille de nombreux visiteur•rice•s à l’occasion de sa programmation artistique, qui redonnent ainsi vie à ce lieu.

Basilique de Fourvière
Sur la « colline des gens qui prient » et face à la « colline des gens qui travaillent », la Basilique surplombe Lyon et participe à sa célèbre ligne architecturale. Sa construction résulte d’une promesse faite en 1870 par les lyonnais à leur archevêque, de construire une basilique dédiée à la Vierge si la ville était épargnée par les Prussiens. Forte de sa situation imprenable mais construite à la suite d’un événement sombre, elle témoigne donc tout autant de la foi que de la peur, et fait écho au thème de la fragilité.

Musée d'art religieux de Fourvière
Le Musée de Fourvière est un musée privé d’art sacré. Créé en 1960, sa vocation première était de faire découvrir au public la richesse de l’art et de la culture du christianisme. Le musée possède également le trésor de Fourvière, rassemblant des pièces d’orfèvrerie du XIXème et du XXème siècle. Ce lieu, actuellement en rénovation, se réinvente pour poursuivre sa mission de transmission.

Musées Gadagne MHL
Situé au coeur du Vieux-Lyon, l’Hôtel de Gadagne, construit à la Renaissance par les frères Pierrevive, accueille depuis 1921 les collections du musée d’histoire de Lyon. Conservant près de 80 000 pièces, le musée donne un aperçu des différents visages de la capitale des Gaules, qui est autant la ville de la soie que des révoltes ouvrières, des industries chimiques et pharmaceutiques que du cinéma.

URDLA - Villeurbanne
Installé à Villeurbanne dans une ancienne usine, l’URDLA est un lieu hybride à la fois atelier de production et outil de diffusion. Conservant des presses historiques et des pierres lithographiques centenaires, l’espace est dédié à la mise en valeur et à la conservation de l’estampe.

Lugdunum - Musée & Théâtres romains
Le musée gallo-romain de la ville de Lyon est conçu comme une cathédrale de béton souterraine, arrimé sur la colline de Fourvière. Inauguré en 1975, il s’élève à l’emplacement de la ville romaine, Lugdunum, fondée en 43 avant JC. L’architecture brutaliste, fondue dans le paysage, met en valeur les éléments archéologiques alentours et sert d’écrin aux collections. Cet aménagement diachronique témoigne du feuilletage du temps dans la ville, et des pièces très contemporaines viendront s’y mêler.

macLYON - Musée d'art contemporain
Installé depuis 1995 sur le site de la Cité internationale, vaste ensemble architectural en bordure du Parc de la Tête d’Or, le Musée d’art contemporain de Lyon (macLYON), confié à l’architecte Renzo Piano, associe une façade des années 1920 de Charles Meysson, issue des anciens palais de la Foire de Lyon, et un volume en briques rouges contemporain.

Musée des Beaux-Arts de Lyon
Au coeur de la ville, le musée des Beaux-Arts de Lyon conserve au sein du palais Saint-Pierre une importante collection qui s’étend de l’Antiquité au XXème siècle. Le parcours est organisé selon un ordre chronologique, et permet un vaste voyage temporel, imaginé selon l’idéal encyclopédique des Lumières. Dans ce concentré d’Histoire, la confrontation des époques est particulièrement tangible.

Musée Guimet
Inauguré en 1913 dans un bâtiment du 6e arrondissement d’après les plans dessinés par Tony Blein et fermé au public depuis 2007, le Musée d’histoire naturelle Guimet conservait des collections variées – de l’ethnologie extra-européenne aux sciences naturelles et aux oeuvres pontificales missionnaires.

Parc de la tête d'or et pavillon du Parc
Dessiné par les frères Bühler et aménagé en 1857, le parc de la Tête d’Or est autant un lieu de détente et de loisirs, qu’un jardin botanique et zoologique, une roseraie et une orangerie. Situé sur les bords du Rhône, il accueille également le Pavillon du Parc, un ancien restaurant, vide et à l’abandon depuis 2015.

Et d'autres lieux à venir prochainement...

Lieux d'intérêts

Inscrits dans un récit architectural et historique, les lieux d’intérêts viennent enrichir le discours intemporel et iconique par une déambulation dans la ville de Lyon.

La Maison de Lorette
Cimetière de Loyasse
Maison des Canuts
Grand Hôtel-Dieu
Chapelle de l’Hôtel-Dieu
Palais de la Bourse de Lyon
Place des Terreaux

Rue de la Quarantaine
Halle Tony Garnier
Célestins, Théâtre de Lyon
Clocher de l’Hôpital de la Charité de Lyon
Place Saint-Nizier
Jardin Botanique de Lyon