A must-see event

if_saison_africa_2020_logo_multidef_rvb_plan_de_travail_.png

In keeping with Lyon's humanist tradition, the Dance Biennale Défilé has since 1996 been a focal point for people to unite in a sharing, community-minded atmosphere, and to celebrate amateur practices in their most noble aspect: artistic quality serving social inclusion. Some 4,000 amateur participants aged 10 to 80, from nearly 600 municipalities across the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region, have been preparing for several months to create their parade.
For this exceptional edition, in close conjunction with the Africa2020 Season, we asked each of the 12 teams to host one or more African artists in local residence, and build collaborations. The participants were thus able to experiment with cultural dialogue in tangible terms, to invent a festival of blended imaginative realms. Around 30 creators from 10 African countries – from the visual and circus arts, music, song, dance and fashion – have jointly devised the Africa2020 Défilé with artists from the region!

Two emblematic honorary patrons

The parade's 250,000 spectators will have the great pleasure of being joined by two emblematic honorary patrons: Fatoumata Diawara, the celebrated Malian singer, and Germaine Acogny, the "mother" of contemporary African dance.

"I am honoured and touched to be the honorary patron of the Dance Biennale Défilé, as part of the Africa2020 Season dedicated to Africa and youth. All my thoughts go to those who welcomed me when I took my first steps in France, and to those who continue to support me in this magnificent city of Lyon. It's the America of dance, where all dreams of success are permitted. I say to you: Dare, Dream, Sing and Dance. Dance is a peaceful weapon able to break down barriers imposed by religion, language and territory. Thank you and bravo for continuing to sustain the tradition of a Dance Biennale and Défilé without borders, focused on the future and peace."
Germaine Acogny-Vogt

"This year, 250 regional artists will share their art with leading African artists, choreographers, designers and musicians… I am honoured to be part of an adventure with such tremendous cultural and social reach, which celebrates open-mindedness, inter-cultural dialogue and, of course, life through dance – which is the best way to elevate our mind! One music, one world. PEACE."
Fatoumata Diawara

c_aida_muluneh_3.jpg

Un évènement incontournable

if_saison_africa_2020_logo_multidef_rvb_plan_de_travail_.png

Dans la tradition de l’humanisme lyonnais, le Défilé de la Biennale de la danse est depuis 1996 un objet de rencontres, de partage, de citoyenneté, une célébration des pratiques amateurs dans ce qu’elles ont de plus noble : la qualité artistique au service de l’inclusion sociale. 4 000 participants amateurs de 10 à 80 ans, issus de près de 600 communes de la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes se préparent depuis plusieurs mois pour créer leur défilé.
Pour cette édition exceptionnelle en grande complicité avec la Saison Africa2020, nous avons proposé à chacune des 12 équipes d’accueillir un ou plusieurs artistes africains en résidence sur son territoire afin de nouer des collaborations. Ainsi, les participants ont pu expérimenter concrètement le dialogue culturel pour inventer un véritable festival des imaginaires métissés. Une trentaine de créateurs des domaines des arts visuels, du cirque, de la musique et du chant, de la danse et de la mode de 10 pays africains ont co-construit, avec les artistes régionaux, le Défilé Africa2020 !

Deux marraines emblématiques

Les 250 000 spectateurs auront le grand plaisir d’être accompagnés par deux emblématiques marraines, Fatoumata Diawara, célèbre chanteuse malienne, et Germaine Acogny, la “mère” de la danse africaine contemporaine.

"Je suis honorée et touchée d'être la marraine du Défilé de la Biennale de la danse dans le cadre de la Saison Africa2020 dédiée à l'Afrique et à la jeunesse. Toutes mes pensées à ceux qui m'ont accueillie lors de mes premiers pas en France, à ceux qui continuent à me soutenir dans cette magnifique ville de Lyon. C’est l’Amérique de la danse où tous les rêves de réussite sont permis. Je vous dis : Osez, Rêvez, Chantez, Dansez. La danse est une arme pacifique capable de briser les barrières religieuses, linguistiques, territoriales. Merci et bravo de continuer à faire perdurer cette tradition du Défilé et de la Biennale de la danse sans frontières tournée vers l'avenir et la paix."
Germaine Acogny-Vogt

"Cette année, 250 artistes vont partager leur art avec de grands artistes africains, chorégraphes, designers, musiciens… Je suis honorée de faire partie de cette aventure à la formidable portée culturelle et sociale, célébration de l’ouverture, du dialogue interculturel et bien sûr célébration de la vie à travers la danse… la meilleure façon d’élever notre esprit !
One music, one world. PEACE."

Fatoumata Diawara

Fatoumata Diawara